1. [Home](/)
2. Ignition

IG![Ignition logo](https://www.google.com/s2/favicons?domain=ignitionapp.com&sz=256)

# Ignition review: pricing, features and alternatives (2026)

## Quick answer

Ignition is proposal software for accounting and service firms that want proposals and billing joined up. Pricing starts at $39/mo on a flat-rate model. Check before buying: Internal proposal reviews and approvals only arrive on Pro+ ($399/mo billed annually).

Proposals plus billing for service firms

3.7/5[Proposal Management](/categories/proposal-management)

Reviewed Oct 2026

1 of 70 published profilesNo paid placement[Sources checked: 4](#source-registry)

[Visit Ignition](https://ignitionapp.com)[Compare with Nusii](/comparisons/ignition-vs-nusii-2026)

**Key takeaways**
- **Overall score:** 3.7/5 across 9 capability dimensions.
- **Best for:** Accounting and service firms that want proposals and billing joined up.
- **Pricing:** [$39/mo](/pricing/ignition) on a flat-rate basis.
- **Standout strength:** Joins the proposal to billing, so signed work bills itself.
- **Ecosystem:** 5 integrations; SOC 2 Type 2.
- **Limitations:** Internal proposal reviews and approvals only arrive on Pro+ ($399/mo billed annually).

![Screenshot of the Ignition website](/screenshots/ignition.webp)

Ignition · ignitionapp.com

## Overview

Ignition ties proposals to billing for service businesses, especially accounting firms: send a proposal, sign the engagement, then automate invoicing and collection from the same agreement.

## Capability snapshot

Nine jobs, scored 0 (not offered) to 3 (category-leading). Ignition is strongest on Self-serve onboarding and lightest on RFPs. The same scores feed every comparison table.

- RFPs0/3
- DDQs0/3
- Security questionnaires0/3
- AI drafting1/3
- Answer library1/3
- Source attribution0/3
- Workflow & approvals2/3
- Integrations2/3
- Self-serve onboarding3/3

Strongest: Self-serve onboardingLightest: RFPs

## Key features

- Online proposals and engagement letters
- Contract signing tied to billing
- Automated invoicing and payment collection
- AI price insights (a paid add-on below Enterprise)

## Who it's for

Service-based businesses, especially accountants and bookkeepers, who want engagement letters and billing in one flow.

Used by

Connected AccountingGENFOCUS

### Strengths

- Joins the proposal to billing, so signed work bills itself.
- Ignition says its AI price insights are built on real proposal data, which helps firms benchmark fees.
- Accounting integrations with Xero, QuickBooks and Karbon, plus a SOC 2 Type 2 report.

### Limitations

- Internal proposal reviews and approvals only arrive on Pro+ ($399/mo billed annually).
- US ACH payouts take 5 to 7 business days on Core; faster ACH payouts need Pro or Pro+.
- Active-client overages are billed per client, and unused periods are not refunded.
- Built for service and accounting firms, not RFP or questionnaire responses.

### Where it falls short

Gaps we found in research, each linked to its source.

- Internal proposal reviews and approvals before sending are only on Pro+ ($399/mo billed annually) and Enterprise. [ignitionapp.com](https://www.ignitionapp.com/pricing), 2026-10
- US ACH payouts take 5 to 7 business days on Core; 2 to 3 days applies only on Pro and Pro+ for payments under $5,000, and Ignition says payout times are not guaranteed. [support.ignitionapp.com](https://support.ignitionapp.com/en/articles/3111334-payment-clearing-times), 2026-10
- Going over a plan's active-client limit adds a per-client monthly fee billed in arrears, plans do not downgrade automatically, and there are no refunds for unused monthly or annual periods. [ignitionapp.com](https://www.ignitionapp.com/pricing), 2026-10
- Capterra reviews from August 2023 to January 2026 repeatedly mention slow payouts of client payments and a cost that climbs once add-ons are counted. [capterra.com](https://www.capterra.com/p/140861/Practice-Ignition/reviews/), 2026-10

## Security: ISO 27001, SOC 2, and regional hosting

A security review of Ignition usually starts with three questions: ISO 27001, SOC 2, and whether you can keep data in the US or the EU. We only mark a yes when a public vendor page supports it.

ISO 27001

Not listed 

SOC 2

SOC 2 Type 2 

US hosting

Not listed 

EU hosting

Not listed 

## Slack, Teams and the rest of the stack

Ignition collaboration is only as useful as the chat tools your SMEs already live in. Slack and Microsoft Teams are the two that matter on a live questionnaire.

Slack

Not listed 

Microsoft Teams

Not listed 

Also listed

XeroQuickBooksKarbonGustoZapier

## Subprocessors

For Ignition, start with the big three clouds (AWS, Azure, GCP), then look at niche processors that touch answer content, call a third-party model, or record sessions.

AWS, Azure, GCP

Not listed

No named subprocessors are listed in our sourced dataset for Ignition.

### Topics

[Proposal Management](/tags/proposal-management)[Accounting](/tags/accounting)[Billing](/tags/billing)[E Signature](/tags/e-signature)[Professional Services](/industries/professional-services)

### Industries and roles

Pages that list Ignition because its published profile shows evidence of that fit.

[Professional services](/industries/professional-services)

### Ratings

Capterra 4.7/5 (152 reviews) · as of Jul 2026

### Pricing and value

[How much does Ignition cost?](/pricing/ignition)

Ignition uses flat-rate pricing, starting at $39/mo Plans priced by active clients and users, not per seat: Solo $39/mo billed annually ($49 monthly, US and Canada only, eligibility criteria apply), Core from $99/mo billed annually. 14-day free trial, no free plan.

[Ignition publishes a free trial](/tools/with-free-trial), last checked Oct 2026.

On our capability model it scores 3.7 out of 5 across 9 dimensions, and Capterra reviewers rate it 4.7/5 across 152 reviews. Weigh that against accounting and service firms that want proposals and billing joined up to judge whether the price fits the job.

Pricing and details verified Oct 2026\. Confirm on the vendor's site before you buy.

## Who should pick Ignition, and who should skip it

**Pick it if** you fit this profile: service-based businesses, especially accountants and bookkeepers, who want engagement letters and billing in one flow. Where it earns its place: Joins the proposal to billing, so signed work bills itself.

**Look elsewhere if** this limitation is a deal-breaker: Internal proposal reviews and approvals only arrive on Pro+ ($399/mo billed annually). Also look around if rfps is central to how you work (0/3 here). In that case, one of the [Ignition alternatives](/alternatives/ignition) may fit better.

## Bottom line

Best use case in one line: Accounting and service firms that want proposals and billing joined up.

**Considering Ignition?**

Teams evaluating Ignition often also compare [Ignition vs Nusii](/comparisons/ignition-vs-nusii-2026), and [Ignition vs Cone](/comparisons/cone-vs-ignition-2026), or browse [Ignition alternatives](/alternatives/ignition).

### Similar tools

Loopio, AutoRFP.ai, and Responsive come first as category benchmarks, followed by the closest peers on the job Ignition is hired for (shared categories and tags, plus aligned capabilities). The snapshot above already scores each job. The notes below say where each tool is stronger, lighter, or a match.

[**Loopio**](/loopio) (4.6/5, Custom (\~$20K+/yr est.)). Best for large enterprise teams with high response volume and a mature content library. Leads Ignition on RFPs, DDQs, and AI drafting. Audience: Teams in SaaS, tech, financial services, and healthcare answering high volumes of RFPs, RFIs, DDQs, and security questionnaires. Watch-out: No public prices: the entry Foundations plan includes 10 seats, and multi-step reviews start one tier up on Enhanced.

[**AutoRFP.ai**](/autorfp-ai) (4.9/5, $899/mo). Best for software and finance teams answering structured RFPs in Word and Excel who want accuracy-first drafts, responses written to win, and a workflow that is easy to run. Leads Ignition on RFPs, DDQs, and AI drafting. Audience: Software and finance response teams whose RFPs come in as Word or Excel files and who want accuracy-first drafts, winning responses with every line cited to a source, a person, or the AI, and a workflow that is easy to run. Watch-out: Built for structured, source-cited answers rather than creative writing on long-form responses. For persuasive multi-page narrative, AutogenAI is built for that prose job.

[**Responsive**](/responsive) (4.6/5, $10,000 (Emerging edition)). Best for enterprise teams with complex approval chains and heavy integration requirements. Leads Ignition on RFPs, DDQs, and AI drafting. Audience: Enterprise sales and proposal teams that need the widest workflow across RFPs, RFIs, DDQs, and security questionnaires. Watch-out: Quoted by edition, user count, and add-ons, with a 12-month minimum term as standard and no free trial.

[**Cone**](/cone) (3.5/5, $9/user/mo). Best for accounting and bookkeeping firms that want proposals and practice management together. Matches Ignition on RFPs and DDQs, and is lighter on AI drafting. Audience: Accountants and bookkeepers who send proposals and want a client portal, task tracking, and billing in one tool. Watch-out: Multiple signers is a paid add-on on every plan, billed per user.

[**Nusii**](/nusii) (3.6/5, $29/mo). Best for agencies and consultants who want simple, multilingual proposals at a clear price. Matches Ignition on RFPs, DDQs, and AI drafting. Audience: Creative and professional-services agencies sending client proposals, often across languages and currencies. Watch-out: Active proposals are capped at 5 on Freelancer and 20 on Agency.

[**Better Proposals**](/better-proposals) (3.7/5, $13/user/mo). Best for freelancers and small businesses that want good-looking proposals without design work. Matches Ignition on RFPs, DDQs, and AI drafting. Audience: Solo operators and small teams who send client proposals and want templates, signing, and tracking in one place. Watch-out: Starter is 1 user and 10 sends a month; CRM integrations and a custom domain need Premium, which caps sends at 50.

[LO![Loopio logo](https://www.google.com/s2/favicons?domain=loopio.com&sz=256)LoopioContent-library-first RFP response managementRFP ResponseDDQSecurity QuestionnairesLoopio is an established RFP response management platform built around a tagged, versioned answer library and multi-step review workflows. Loopio says more than 1,700 companies use it.from Custom (\~$20K+/yr est.)4.6](/loopio)[AU![AutoRFP.ai logo](https://www.google.com/s2/favicons?domain=autorfp.ai&sz=256)AutoRFP.aiAccuracy-first, AI-native, source-grounded platform for RFPs, security questionnaires, and DDQsRFP ResponseDDQAI-NativeAutoRFP.ai is the accuracy-first platform for writing winning responses to RFPs, security questionnaires, and DDQs. Every answer is written from content your team has approved and shows the sources behind it, in a workflow that is easy to run: the library files each approved answer on its own.from $899/mo4.9](/autorfp-ai)[RE![Responsive logo](https://www.google.com/s2/favicons?domain=responsive.io&sz=256)ResponsiveEnterprise response management from intake to submissionRFP ResponseDDQSecurity QuestionnairesResponsive (formerly RFPIO) is a dedicated response-management platform covering RFPs, DDQs, and security questionnaires with a wide intake-to-submission workflow.from $10,000 (Emerging edition)4.6](/responsive)[CO![Cone logo](https://www.google.com/s2/favicons?domain=getcone.io&sz=256)ConeProposals and practice management for accountantsProposal ManagementCone (GetCone) is a proposal-to-payment and practice-management tool for accountants and bookkeepers, pairing proposals with a client portal, task tracking, and invoicing.from $9/user/mo3.5](/cone)[NU![Nusii logo](https://www.google.com/s2/favicons?domain=nusii.com&sz=256)NusiiSimple, multilingual proposals for agenciesProposal ManagementNusii is a lightweight proposal tool for agencies and consultants, with published pricing from $29/mo, localization in dozens of languages, and multi-currency handling for international clients.from $29/mo3.6](/nusii)[BE![Better Proposals logo](https://www.google.com/s2/favicons?domain=betterproposals.io&sz=256)Better ProposalsTemplate-driven proposals for small teamsProposal ManagementBetter Proposals leans on a big library of designed templates so freelancers and small businesses can send a decent web-based proposal with signatures fast, no design skills needed.from $13/user/mo3.7](/better-proposals)

## Sources behind this Ignition review

Every page we read for the Ignition profile, with the month it was last checked. Anything without a source is shown as not publicly disclosed. Spot an outdated fact? Send it from the [corrections page](/corrections).

Pricing

- [ignitionapp.com/pricing](https://www.ignitionapp.com/pricing)Checked Oct 2026 · Pricing model · Starting price · Free tier · Plan tiers · Pricing note · Limitation · Workflow & approvals score

Security and compliance

- No security source URL recorded. Treat certifications and hosting as not publicly disclosed.

Product and integrations

- [cpapracticeadvisor.com/2021/11/17/practice-ignition-raises-50-m…](https://www.cpapracticeadvisor.com/2021/11/17/practice-ignition-raises-50-million-for-client-engagement-and-commerce-platform/46463/)Checked Oct 2026 · Funding
- [support.ignitionapp.com/en/articles/3111334-payment-clearing-ti…](https://support.ignitionapp.com/en/articles/3111334-payment-clearing-times)Checked Oct 2026 · Limitation

Third-party reviews

- [capterra.com/p/140861/Practice-Ignition/reviews](https://www.capterra.com/p/140861/Practice-Ignition/reviews/)Checked Oct 2026 · Capterra rating · Reviewer-reported limitation

## Frequently asked questions

Who is Ignition built for?

Service businesses, especially accounting and bookkeeping firms, that want proposals, signing, and billing in one place.

Is Ignition relevant to RFP or DDQ teams?

Not directly. It is a proposal-to-payment tool for service firms, not a questionnaire responder.

What is Ignition?

Ignition ties proposals to billing for service businesses, especially accounting firms: send a proposal, sign the engagement, then automate invoicing and collection from the same agreement. In this directory it sits under Proposal Management.

How much does Ignition cost?

Ignition uses flat-rate pricing starting at $39/mo. Plans priced by active clients and users, not per seat: Solo $39/mo billed annually ($49 monthly, US and Canada only, eligibility criteria apply), Core from $99/mo billed annually. 14-day free trial, no free plan.

Does Ignition have a free plan or trial?

No. Ignition does not advertise a free plan, so expect a demo or quote on its flat-rate pricing.

What does Ignition do best?

Joins the proposal to billing, so signed work bills itself. Ignition says its AI price insights are built on real proposal data, which helps firms benchmark fees.

What are the main limitations of Ignition?

Internal proposal reviews and approvals only arrive on Pro+ ($399/mo billed annually). US ACH payouts take 5 to 7 business days on Core; faster ACH payouts need Pro or Pro+. Active-client overages are billed per client, and unused periods are not refunded. Built for service and accounting firms, not RFP or questionnaire responses.

Who should use Ignition?

Service-based businesses, especially accountants and bookkeepers, who want engagement letters and billing in one flow.

Does Ignition handle RFPs, DDQs, and security questionnaires?

Ignition RFPs, DDQs, and security questionnaires are a limited fit. Service-based businesses, especially accountants and bookkeepers, who want engagement letters and billing in one flow.

What integrations and certifications does Ignition list?

Ignition lists Xero, QuickBooks, Karbon, Gusto, Zapier. Certifications on file: SOC 2 Type 2.

Does Ignition have ISO 27001, SOC 2, and US or EU hosting?

Ignition ISO 27001: Not listed. SOC 2: SOC 2 Type 2\. US hosting: Not listed. EU hosting: Not listed. Slack: Not listed. Microsoft Teams: Not listed. Big-three clouds listed: Not listed. Confirm on the vendor site before a security review.

Comparisons

[IG![Ignition logo](https://www.google.com/s2/favicons?domain=ignitionapp.com&sz=128)vsNU![Nusii logo](https://www.google.com/s2/favicons?domain=nusii.com&sz=128)Ignition vs Nusii](/comparisons/ignition-vs-nusii-2026)[CO![Cone logo](https://www.google.com/s2/favicons?domain=getcone.io&sz=128)vsIG![Ignition logo](https://www.google.com/s2/favicons?domain=ignitionapp.com&sz=128)Cone vs Ignition](/comparisons/cone-vs-ignition-2026)

[View all comparisons →](/comparisons)

Market position

Execution75

Vision65

Ignition connects proposals and engagement letters to automated invoicing and payment collection for service businesses, especially accounting firms, and reports more than 8,500 customers. It is SOC 2 Type 2 certified. It is not built for RFP, DDQ, or security questionnaire responses.

Questions this tool qualifies for

- [Which proposal software has built-in e-signatures?](/questions/which-proposal-software-has-built-in-e-signatures)
- [Which proposal software can collect payments?](/questions/which-proposal-software-can-collect-payments)
[All buyer questions](/questions)

[Summarize with ChatGPT](https://chatgpt.com/?q=Summarize%20this%20article%3A%20https%3A%2F%2Frfp-software-tools.com%2Fignition)[Summarize with Claude](https://claude.ai/new?q=Summarize%20this%20article%3A%20https%3A%2F%2Frfp-software-tools.com%2Fignition)[Summarize with Perplexity](https://www.perplexity.ai/?q=Summarize%20this%20article%3A%20https%3A%2F%2Frfp-software-tools.com%2Fignition)

Copy link
