Quick verdict
Choose Better Proposals for freelancers and small businesses that want good-looking proposals without design work; choose Proposable for sales teams that want a simple builder with solid recipient analytics. Better Proposals starts lower, at $13/user/mo against $19/user/mo for Proposable. In our capability model Better Proposals leads on AI drafting, and the two match everywhere else.
Both profiles reviewed Oct 2026
2 of 70 profiles, one scoring modelNo paid placementSources checked: 12Choose Better Proposals or Proposable
BE
Choose Better Proposals when
- Freelancers and small businesses that want good-looking proposals without design work.
- You need stronger AI drafting than Proposable offers.
- You want the lower entry price: $13/user/mo.
PR
Choose Proposable when
- Sales teams that want a simple builder with solid recipient analytics.
- Proposal analytics and SMS event notifications are on every plan, Solo included.
Side-by-side comparison
| Capability | Better Proposals | Proposable | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|
| Best for | Freelancers and small businesses that want good-looking proposals without design work. | Sales teams that want a simple builder with solid recipient analytics. | - |
| Starting price | $13/user/mo | $19/user/mo | Better Proposals |
| Free tier | No | No | Match |
| RFPs | 0/3 | 0/3 | Match |
| DDQs | 0/3 | 0/3 | Match |
| Security questionnaires | 0/3 | 0/3 | Match |
| AI drafting | 1/3 | 0/3 | Better Proposals |
| Answer library | 1/3 | 1/3 | Match |
| Source attribution | 0/3 | 0/3 | Match |
| Workflow & approvals | 2/3 | 2/3 | Match |
| Integrations | 2/3 | 2/3 | Match |
| Self-serve onboarding | 3/3 | 3/3 | Match |
| ISO 27001 | Not listed | Not listed | - |
| SOC 2 | Not listed | Not listed | - |
| US hosting | Not listed | Not listed | - |
| EU hosting | Not listed | Not listed | - |
| Slack | Not listed | Not listed | - |
| Microsoft Teams | Not listed | Not listed | - |
| AWS, Azure, GCP | Not listed | Not listed | - |
| Listed integrations | HubSpot, Salesforce, Zapier, Asana | Salesforce, HubSpot | - |
| Certifications | None listed | None listed | - |
What they look like
BE
Better Proposals

PR
Proposable

Security: ISO 27001, SOC 2, and regional hosting
Put Better Proposals and Proposable through the same three questions a security reviewer will ask: ISO 27001, SOC 2, and whether you can keep the tenancy in the US or the EU. Cells say Not listed when we could not find the claim on a public vendor page.
| Check | Better Proposals | Proposable |
|---|---|---|
| ISO 27001 | Not listed | Not listed |
| SOC 2 | Not listed | Not listed |
| US hosting | Not listed | Not listed |
| EU hosting | Not listed | Not listed |
Slack and Microsoft Teams
During a live questionnaire, SMEs get pinged in Slack or Teams, not in a vendor portal. Here is what Better Proposals and Proposable publish for those two connections.
| Connection | Better Proposals | Proposable |
|---|---|---|
| Slack | Not listed | Not listed |
| Microsoft Teams | Not listed | Not listed |
Subprocessors: the big three clouds, then the niche names
Compare Better Proposals and Proposable on AWS, Azure and GCP first. Then scan for niche processors a reviewer should pause on: third-party LLMs, session replay, or support that leaves the region you elected.
| Layer | Better Proposals | Proposable |
|---|---|---|
| AWS, Azure, GCP | Not listed | Not listed |
| Watch-outs | No niche processors flagged in our sourced list. | No niche processors flagged in our sourced list. |
Short answer: Better Proposals is cheaper and more capable for most small teams, and Proposable earns its place when you live in Salesforce and want proposal activity written back to the opportunity. Both are per-user proposal builders with e-signatures, content libraries and open tracking. The differences sit in the plan limits, in where approvals live, and in how each one behaves after a proposal has gone out.
Neither is an RFP, DDQ or security questionnaire tool. If that is your actual problem, skip to the section on category fit before you read the pricing.
Key takeaways
- Entry price: Better Proposals starts at $13 per user per month billed annually ($19 monthly). Proposable’s Solo plan is $19 per user per month.
- First limit you will hit: Better Proposals Starter allows 10 sent documents a month for a single user. Proposable Solo allows 5 proposal deliveries a month and leaves out Stripe payments and team collaboration.
- Unlimited sending: Proposable’s Team plan ($39 per user per month) removes the delivery cap. Better Proposals removes its cap only on Enterprise ($42 per user per month annually); Premium ($21) allows 50 sends a month.
- Approvals: Better Proposals puts manager approvals on Enterprise. Proposable puts Manager Approval on Enterprise, which starts at $500 a month.
- CRM depth: Proposable’s Salesforce integration pushes views, opens, comments and acceptance back to the opportunity, per its help center. Better Proposals lists HubSpot, Salesforce, Zoho and Pipedrive from Premium up.
- Limitations: Better Proposals documents that PDFs can differ from the web version. Proposable documents that cancelling deletes every proposal in the account, and that font changes restyle proposals already delivered.
Who built them and who they are for
Better Proposals is bootstrapped and based in Brighton, England. Its site claims a user base of more than 10,000 businesses and freelancers and a catalogue of over 260 document templates. The pitch is aimed at freelancers, agencies and small service businesses: pick a designed template, drop in your content, send a link, get signed and paid.
Proposable was founded in 2009 and is based in Bloomington, Indiana. Its pitch is aimed at sales teams: build from a content library, send, and watch what the recipient does with the document. Named customers include Grow.com, Verint Monet, Asure Software and WebFX.
Review scores as of July 2026: Capterra gives Better Proposals 4.8 out of 5 from 166 reviews and G2 gives it 4.3 from 51; Proposable sits at 4.4 on Capterra (112 reviews) and 4.2 on G2 (74). Most of the Proposable Capterra reviews we read date from 2018 to 2021, so they describe an older version of the product. Factor that in both directions.
Templates and reusable content
Better Proposals leads with templates. Its site says it has more than 260 document templates, its pricing page lists unlimited saved templates and an unlimited content library on every plan, and template folders let you set permissions and move items between folders. Default merge tags fill in client details automatically, and custom merge tags let you define your own fields. You can also import a Word document with its Doc Importer and restyle it in the editor. For a business that has been sending the same proposal as a .docx for years, that import is the fastest way to find out whether the tool fits.
Proposable starts from a content library of reusable blocks and a template library, and its help center covers estimate tables, a template library and global design settings. The emphasis is less on design choice and more on keeping every seller’s document consistent: the same fonts, the same blocks, the same pricing structure. That suits a sales manager who wants ten reps sending the same thing. It suits a creative studio less.
Neither library is a question-and-answer store. Both hold sections you drop into your own proposals.
The cap you will hit first
Both vendors meter the cheapest plan by volume, and the meters are tight.
Better Proposals Starter is 1 user with 10 sent documents a month. Proposable Solo is per user with 5 proposal deliveries a month. If you send two proposals a week, Proposable Solo runs out in the third week; Better Proposals Starter lasts the month.
Moving up changes the shape of the problem:
- Better Proposals Premium ($21 per user per month annually, $29 monthly) allows unlimited users and a send limit of 50 a month. Its pricing page describes the limit as the total number of documents you send per month, so confirm whether a team shares that pool before you plan around it.
- Proposable Team ($39 per user per month) is unlimited. No counting.
- Better Proposals Enterprise ($42 annually, $49 monthly) is also unlimited, and adds the review controls.
So for a seller who sends 60 proposals a month, Proposable Team at $39 and Better Proposals Enterprise at $42 end up within a few dollars of each other per user. Below 50 sends a month, Better Proposals Premium is the cheaper unlimited-user option by a wide margin.
What a team actually pays
Same exercise at three sizes, using list prices from each pricing page as of October 2026 (Better Proposals on annual billing; Proposable lists one per-user price per plan).
One person, light volume, needs signatures. Better Proposals Starter at $13 a month beats Proposable Solo at $19, and gives you twice the sends plus payment integrations, which Proposable Solo does not include.
Five people, moderate volume, want CRM sync and payments. Better Proposals Premium is 5 x $21 = $105 a month, if the 50-send limit covers the team. Proposable Team is 5 x $39 = $195 a month with no cap. That gap is large enough to pay for a lot of counting.
Five people who need a manager to approve discounts before anything goes out. Better Proposals Enterprise is 5 x $42 = $210 a month. Proposable’s Manager Approval only arrives on Enterprise, from $500 a month, which also brings API access, data export, departments, phone support and an account manager. If approvals are a requirement and you are under about a dozen sellers, Better Proposals is the cheaper path.
Both offer free trials. Better Proposals says 14 days with no card. Proposable advertises a free trial on every plan; check the length when you sign up.
After you hit send
Tracking is the reason most people buy either tool, and both cover the basics on every plan.
Better Proposals includes notifications and analytics on all three plans, and Premium adds automatic expiry dates and custom onboarding flows and forms. Its optional Nudge add-on, at $10 per user per month, handles follow-up.
Proposable puts proposal analytics and SMS event notifications on every plan, including Solo, so your phone buzzes when a buyer opens or acts on the document. Team adds sales team statistics; Enterprise adds department-level stats.
The workflow difference that matters more than either dashboard: Proposable lets you edit a proposal after it has been delivered, and the recipient sees the change at the same link. That is handy in a negotiation where price moves twice in a week. It also means you should be deliberate about what changes after a buyer has read the first version, and Proposable’s help center notes that changes are logged in the proposal’s Sections tab.
Better Proposals’ web-first design has its own trade-off. The company’s help center explains that a PDF copy can differ from the online proposal because the content has to fit fixed pages (read October 2026). If a buyer’s procurement team files PDFs, generate one during your trial and look at it properly.
Review controls and admin
Approvals are where both tools ask you to pay for the top tier.
On Better Proposals the review features arrive together on Enterprise: manager approvals, locked content, real-time co-editing, inline comments and finer user permissions. Below that tier, anyone with a seat can send whatever they have written.
Proposable’s Enterprise plan adds Manager Approval and departments. Team gets collaboration but no approval gate.
Proposable also has a global design model. Per its help center, font settings are account-wide and an owner change applies to every proposal, including ones already in progress with buyers (read October 2026). That is brand consistency by force, which some marketing teams will like, and which can surprise a seller whose live proposal suddenly looks different. The same article warns that text pasted from Word or a website can bring stray formatting into the PDF; the fix is the editor’s clear-formatting button.
CRM and payments
Payments. Every Better Proposals plan can take payments, through Stripe, PayPal or GoCardless. Proposable uses Stripe, on Team and Enterprise only; its help center notes that an account owner enables payments globally for the whole team.
CRM. Better Proposals’ CRM integrations start on Premium and include HubSpot, Salesforce, Zoho and Pipedrive, alongside project tools such as Asana, Trello, ClickUp, Wrike and Basecamp, plus Zapier and an API.
Proposable’s integration list is CRM-heavy: Salesforce, HubSpot, Zoho, NetSuite, Microsoft Dynamics, Pipedrive, Highrise and Insightly, plus Zapier. Solo gets limited integrations, Team gets standard CRM integrations, and Enterprise gets all of them. The Salesforce detail is the strongest thing Proposable has going for it. According to its Salesforce integration article, it syncs contacts and opportunities, can create an opportunity when you send, pushes views, opens, comments, downloads and acceptance back to the opportunity record, and keeps the opportunity value in line with the proposal’s estimate total. Mapping custom Salesforce fields into templates as merge tags is an Enterprise feature.
If your sales leader lives in Salesforce reports, that write-back is worth more than a nicer editor.
Known issues and watch-outs
Every item below links to the vendor’s own documentation or to a complaint that shows up in several dated reviews.
Better Proposals
- Starter is one seat and 10 sends. CRM integrations, custom domain and API or Zapier need Premium, capped at 50 sends (pricing page, October 2026).
- Approvals and content locking are Enterprise-only (pricing page, October 2026).
- PDF output can differ from the web version (help center, read October 2026).
- Editor complaints recur. Capterra reviews from December 2023 through April 2026 call the editor clunky and the layout options limited (Capterra, read October 2026).
Proposable
- Solo is 5 deliveries a month, without Stripe payments or team collaboration (pricing page, October 2026).
- Approvals, API and data export start at $500 a month on Enterprise (pricing page, October 2026).
- Cancelling deletes everything, past and in-progress proposals included, so export first (help center, read October 2026).
- Font changes restyle delivered proposals (help center, read October 2026).
Fair to both: Better Proposals bundles more into each dollar at the low end, and Proposable’s CRM write-back is more detailed than what most proposal tools in this price band document.
Category check: proposals versus questionnaires
These are outbound tools. You decide what the document says and how it looks.
The work they do not cover is the inbound kind: a buyer’s RFP with a mandated response template, a 300-row security questionnaire in Excel, an investor’s DDQ. That job is reading someone else’s file, matching each question to approved content, chasing subject-matter experts for the gaps, and handing back their file in their format. Neither Better Proposals nor Proposable imports a questionnaire or stores sourced question-and-answer pairs. Their libraries hold blocks for your own proposals, which is the right design for what they do.
If questionnaires are a growing share of your pipeline, response platforms such as Loopio, Responsive and AutoRFP.ai are built for that. Keeping a proposal builder for outbound pitches alongside one of them is a common setup.
A one-week trial plan
You can learn most of what matters in a week if you test the right things.
- Send a real proposal from each tool to a colleague acting as the client, then download the PDF. Compare it with the web version, especially on Better Proposals, whose own help center flags differences.
- Count your sends for the last three months. If any seller sends more than 10 a month, Better Proposals Starter is out; if the team sends more than 50, check how Premium’s limit is applied. For Proposable, more than 5 a month rules out Solo.
- Connect your CRM in the trial. For Proposable, open the Salesforce opportunity after the test client views and comments, and confirm the events appear.
- Change a font on Proposable with a proposal already delivered, so the account owner sees what the global setting does.
- Try an approval. On Better Proposals that means trialling Enterprise features; on Proposable, ask sales to demonstrate Manager Approval, since it sits on the $500-plus plan.
- Export what you made. Proposable deletes everything on cancellation, so practise the download before you rely on it.
Pick Better Proposals when
- You are a freelancer, studio or small agency and price matters.
- You want clients to sign and pay in one place, with Stripe, PayPal or GoCardless available.
- Your team sends under 50 documents a month and can live on Premium.
- You need manager approvals for a small team without paying a $500 monthly floor.
- Templates matter more to you than CRM reporting.
Pick Proposable when
- Your team runs on Salesforce and wants opens, comments and acceptance logged on the opportunity.
- You use a CRM that Better Proposals does not list, such as NetSuite, Microsoft Dynamics or Insightly.
- Sellers send enough that a per-month cap would be a constant annoyance, which makes Team’s unlimited sending worth $39 a seat.
- You want SMS alerts on every plan.
- Live edits to delivered proposals suit your negotiation style.
Bottom line
For most small businesses comparing these two, Better Proposals is the better buy: lower entry price, payments on every plan, more templates, and approvals that do not require a $500 monthly commitment. Test the PDF output and watch the send caps.
Proposable is the narrower pick for sales teams that care about CRM write-back above everything else, especially in Salesforce. Export your proposals before you ever cancel, and agree internally on who owns the account-wide fonts.
Read the full Better Proposals review or Proposable review, or browse all RFP & DDQ software.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between Better Proposals and Proposable?
Better Proposals: Template-driven proposals for small teams. Proposable: Proposals with a focus on tracking. Better Proposals is best for freelancers and small businesses that want good-looking proposals without design work. Proposable is best for sales teams that want a simple builder with solid recipient analytics.
Which is cheaper, Better Proposals or Proposable?
Better Proposals starts lower at $13/user/mo, versus $19/user/mo for Proposable.
Is Better Proposals or Proposable better for DDQs and security questionnaires?
They are level on DDQ and security-questionnaire handling in our capability model, so test both on one of your own questionnaires.
Do Better Proposals and Proposable both handle RFPs?
Better Proposals: limited. Proposable: limited.
Which should you choose, Better Proposals or Proposable?
Better Proposals is the pick for freelancers and small businesses that want good-looking proposals without design work. Proposable is the pick for sales teams that want a simple builder with solid recipient analytics.
Are there alternatives to Better Proposals and Proposable?
Yes. Browse the full directory of RFP, DDQ, and security-questionnaire platforms for more options and side-by-side comparisons.
Do Better Proposals and Proposable list ISO 27001, SOC 2, and US or EU hosting?
Better Proposals: ISO 27001 Not listed, SOC 2 Not listed, US Not listed, EU Not listed, Slack Not listed, Teams Not listed, clouds Not listed. Proposable: ISO 27001 Not listed, SOC 2 Not listed, US Not listed, EU Not listed, Slack Not listed, Teams Not listed, clouds Not listed. Confirm both on the vendor sites.
Source registry
Every page we read for these profiles, with the month it was last checked. Anything without a source is shown as not publicly disclosed. Spot an outdated fact? Send it from the corrections page.
Better Proposals
Pricing
Security and compliance
- No security source URL recorded. Treat certifications and hosting as not publicly disclosed.
Product and integrations
Proposable
Pricing
Security and compliance
- No security source URL recorded. Treat certifications and hosting as not publicly disclosed.
Product and integrations
Third-party reviews