Comparisons

Better Proposals vs Qwilr (2026): pricing, features and verdict

Better Proposals: Template-driven proposals for small teams. Qwilr: Interactive web proposals with analytics.

Quick verdict

Choose Better Proposals for freelancers and small businesses that want good-looking proposals without design work; choose Qwilr for sales teams that want proposals to feel like a polished web page. Better Proposals starts lower, at $13/user/mo against $35/user/mo for Qwilr. In our capability model Better Proposals leads on approval workflows, and the two match everywhere else.

Both profiles reviewed Oct 2026

2 of 70 profiles, one scoring modelNo paid placementSources checked: 11

Choose Better Proposals or Qwilr

Choose Better Proposals when

  • Freelancers and small businesses that want good-looking proposals without design work.
  • You need stronger approval workflows than Qwilr offers.
  • You want the lower entry price: $13/user/mo.

Choose Qwilr when

  • Sales teams that want proposals to feel like a polished web page.
  • Interactive pages stand out against the usual PDF proposal.

Side-by-side comparison

Scores run 0 (not offered) to 3 (category-leading). Edge marks who leads the row; Match means the scores are the same. Confirm certifications on the vendor site before a security review.
CapabilityBetter ProposalsQwilrEdge
Best forFreelancers and small businesses that want good-looking proposals without design work.Sales teams that want proposals to feel like a polished web page.-
Starting price$13/user/mo$35/user/moBetter Proposals
Free tierNoNoMatch
RFPs0/30/3Match
DDQs0/30/3Match
Security questionnaires0/30/3Match
AI drafting1/31/3Match
Answer library1/31/3Match
Source attribution0/30/3Match
Workflow & approvals2/31/3Better Proposals
Integrations2/32/3Match
Self-serve onboarding3/33/3Match
ISO 27001Not listedNot listed-
SOC 2Not listedSOC 2 Type II-
US hostingNot listedNot listed-
EU hostingNot listedNot listed-
SlackNot listedNot listed-
Microsoft TeamsNot listedNot listed-
AWS, Azure, GCPNot listedNot listed-
Listed integrationsHubSpot, Salesforce, Zapier, AsanaHubSpot, Salesforce, Zoho, Pipedrive, QuickBooks-
CertificationsNone listedSOC 2 Type II-

What they look like

Better Proposals

Screenshot of the Better Proposals website

Qwilr

Screenshot of the Qwilr website

Security: ISO 27001, SOC 2, and regional hosting

Put Better Proposals and Qwilr through the same three questions a security reviewer will ask: ISO 27001, SOC 2, and whether you can keep the tenancy in the US or the EU. Cells say Not listed when we could not find the claim on a public vendor page.

Confirm certificates and residency on the vendor site or Trust Center before a formal review.
CheckBetter ProposalsQwilr
ISO 27001Not listed Not listed
SOC 2Not listed SOC 2 Type II
US hostingNot listed Not listed
EU hostingNot listed Not listed

Slack and Microsoft Teams

During a live questionnaire, SMEs get pinged in Slack or Teams, not in a vendor portal. Here is what Better Proposals and Qwilr publish for those two connections.

Native chat apps only. CRM, storage and identity connectors stay in the integrations list.
ConnectionBetter ProposalsQwilr
SlackNot listed Not listed
Microsoft TeamsNot listed Not listed

Subprocessors: the big three clouds, then the niche names

Compare Better Proposals and Qwilr on AWS, Azure and GCP first. Then scan for niche processors a reviewer should pause on: third-party LLMs, session replay, or support that leaves the region you elected.

Cloud row lists the big three only. Niche names sit in the notes when the vendor published them.
LayerBetter ProposalsQwilr
AWS, Azure, GCPNot listedNot listed
Watch-outsNo niche processors flagged in our sourced list.No niche processors flagged in our sourced list.

Short answer: Both send proposals as a link, not a PDF, so pick on budget and on what you want the page to do. Better Proposals is the cheaper, template-led choice for freelancers and small businesses: $21 per user per month billed annually covers CRM search, a custom domain and white-labelled pages, with payments and onboarding forms after signature. Qwilr is the stronger interactive page (quote blocks, ROI calculator, embedded media) and includes HubSpot sync on its $35 Starter plan, and it scales into rules-based proposal automation. Small team on a budget: Better Proposals. Sales team that wants the proposal to sell: Qwilr.

This is the most like-for-like pair among the proposal builders we cover. Both reject the attached PDF. Both give the client a responsive page they can read on a phone, accept, sign and pay. Both tell you which section the client spent time on. If you only compared their homepages, you might flip a coin.

The differences show up in three places: price per seat, how interactive the page is, and what happens at scale (team controls, CRM depth, automation). Everything below comes from each vendor’s pricing and security pages in October 2026. As always in this directory: neither tool answers inbound RFPs, DDQs or security questionnaires.

Key takeaways

  • Per-seat price: Better Proposals is $13, $21 and $42 per user per month billed annually ($19, $29, $49 monthly). Qwilr is $35 on Starter ($49 monthly), $55 on Growth and $75 on Scale, the last two annual-only with 5 and 10 user minimums.
  • What a send costs: Better Proposals caps sends at 10 a month on Starter and 50 on Premium, unlimited on Enterprise. Qwilr’s hand-built pages are unlimited on every plan; automated documents cost $2.50 each past the included 40, 200 or 600.
  • Interactivity: Qwilr pages carry quote blocks with tiers and optional items, an ROI calculator, embedded video, calendars and spreadsheets, and one-click acceptance. Better Proposals has interactive pricing tables, accept-without-signing and post-signature onboarding flows.
  • CRM: Qwilr includes HubSpot, Zoho and Pipedrive on Starter and Salesforce on Scale; Better Proposals has CRM search from Premium and HubSpot and Salesforce “Advanced” sync on Enterprise.
  • Review standing: Better Proposals 4.8/5 on Capterra from 166 reviews (July 2026); Qwilr shows 4.6/5 from 933 G2 reviews on its pricing page (October 2026).
  • Limitations: Better Proposals Starter is one user and its help center says PDFs can differ from the web page; Qwilr’s higher plans need 5 or 10 seats paid annually upfront, and it says it is not ISO 27001 certified.

Two takes on the web proposal

Qwilr treats the proposal as a sales page. You build pages in a drag-and-drop editor, embed video, calendars and spreadsheets, and let buyers interact: choose a tier or add optional items in a quote block, see value in a built-in ROI calculator, accept with one click, sign, and pay with QwilrPay (partial, full or recurring). Page and identity analytics show who viewed, where they spent time and what they clicked. Qwilr can also generate proposals from rules (its Smart Proposal Engine on Scale) or from an API and its MCP integration.

Better Proposals treats the proposal as a well-designed document that lives online. It starts you from more than 260 free templates, turns Word documents into templates with its Doc Importer, and handles spacing and color for you. Clients can choose options in interactive pricing tables, sign (or accept without signing), and pay through Stripe, GoCardless or PayPal. Then it keeps going where most tools stop: onboarding flows that book a call, collect project information through forms, or redirect the client after signing.

So the question is whether your proposal needs to persuade (Qwilr’s interactive page) or to look professional and get the client onboarded with minimum fuss (Better Proposals’ template plus onboarding). Agencies and service businesses often want the second. SaaS and B2B sales teams often want the first.

Pricing and total cost

Annual billing, list prices, October 2026:

Team Better Proposals Qwilr
Solo Starter: $156 a year (10 sends a month) Starter: $420 a year (HubSpot, analytics, payments)
3 users with CRM Premium: 3 x $21 x 12 = $756 a year Starter: 3 x $35 x 12 = $1,260 a year
5 users with team controls Enterprise: 5 x $42 x 12 = $2,520 a year Growth: 5 x $55 x 12 = $3,300 a year
10 users with Salesforce Enterprise: $5,040 a year Scale: 10 x $75 x 12 = $9,000 a year

Better Proposals is cheaper at every size. What changes the math:

  • Send caps: Better Proposals Premium allows 50 sends a month across the account. A busy team needs Enterprise for unlimited sends. Qwilr has no send cap on pages you build yourself.
  • Automation fees: Qwilr bills automatically generated documents at $2.50 each past the allowance (or $2 down to $1.50 in prepaid bundles), and Starter billed monthly includes no free automated documents. If you never automate, this never applies.
  • QwilrPay fee: Qwilr’s pricing page lists a 0.09% QwilrPay transaction fee on Starter and 0% on Growth and Scale.
  • Upfront billing: Qwilr’s Growth and Scale are paid upfront for 12 months.
  • Extras: Better Proposals sells Nudge, a follow-up tool, at $10 per user per month, and custom template design from $1,495. Qwilr includes premium design services on Scale and sells onboarding packages separately.

CRM, automation and AI

Qwilr is the better fit for a team whose pipeline lives in a CRM. HubSpot, Zoho and Pipedrive come with Starter, Microsoft Dynamics with Growth, and Salesforce with Scale. Its pricing page describes creating Qwilr pages directly from HubSpot or Salesforce with deal and contact data pre-filled. Automations arrive on Growth, and conditional content, AI Prefill and the Smart Proposal Engine on Scale. An AI assistant integration over MCP is on every plan.

Better Proposals offers CRM contact search on Premium, then HubSpot and Salesforce “Advanced” integrations on Enterprise that update deal stages and create documents from the CRM. API and Zapier access start on Premium, along with project management and live chat integrations. Its pricing page does not list an AI writing feature.

If you want a proposal generated automatically when a deal reaches a stage, Qwilr is designed for it. If a rep picks a template and fills it in, Better Proposals’ simpler setup is enough.

Analytics and follow-up

Both tools exist partly to answer the question every salesperson asks the morning after sending: did they read it?

Better Proposals shows, on every plan, when a client received, opened, read, forwarded, downloaded and signed the document, and which sections they read longest, with instant in-app and email notifications. Its Nudge add-on ($10 per user per month) turns that into a single follow-up screen: who to chase today, with a personal message ready to send. For a small business owner who forgets to follow up (which is all of us in a busy week), that is the feature that pays for itself.

Qwilr shows page analytics (where buyers spend time and what they click) and identity analytics (exactly who is viewing) on every plan, with real-time alerts when pages are viewed, accepted or stall. Enhanced reporting arrives on Growth. Identity analytics are the stand-out: when a proposal gets forwarded to a CFO you have never met, Qwilr tells you.

Both beat a PDF attachment, which tells you nothing at all.

Templates, setup and support

Better Proposals gets a new user to a sendable proposal fastest. More than 260 free templates, a Word Doc Importer, default and custom merge tags, and a design system that handles spacing and colors. Its pricing page promises live chat with a human and a two-minute response time, and a personalised onboarding call for accounts with three or more users. You can switch plans up or down whenever you want, per its FAQ.

Qwilr offers a template library, a saved blocks library for reusable content, and real-time collaborative editing. Starter comes with a 14-day trial that needs no card and gives full access to Starter features. Support scales with the plan: a dedicated customer success manager on Growth, chat support and enhanced API support on Scale, and help documentation for API questions on Starter. Qwilr also sells onboarding packages and includes premium design services on Scale.

Plan a real first template in both trials. A sample template always looks good in a demo; your own pricing table and terms are where you find out how each editor behaves.

Team controls and reporting

Better Proposals puts team controls on Enterprise: content locking, simultaneous editing, inline commenting, manager approvals (documents go to a manager for feedback and approval before the client sees them) and advanced user permissions. Company, team and user performance reports arrive on Premium, which is unusually early.

Qwilr includes collaborative editing with edit or view-only permissions on every plan. Growth adds template-level settings (default expiry dates and access rules), custom branding, identity verification and enhanced reporting; Scale adds team-level permissions. Its pricing page does not list an approval workflow, so if a manager must sign off on discounts, ask Qwilr to demo how that works.

Analytics retention is a Qwilr-specific catch: history is kept for 60 days on Starter, 120 days on Growth and unlimited on Scale. Better Proposals’ pricing page does not state a retention limit.

Branding and security

Both let you look like yourself. Better Proposals allows unlimited brands per account, custom and Adobe fonts, more than 1,500 Google Fonts, multiple currencies, and on Premium and up a custom domain and removal of its badge. Qwilr offers brand editing (colors, fonts, logos), custom fonts, a custom domain and badge removal from emails, with custom branding listed on Growth.

On security, Qwilr pages can be locked with passwords, time limits, view limits and domain restrictions, with identity verification from Growth. Qwilr’s security FAQ says it completes an annual SOC 2 Type 2 audit and is not ISO 27001 certified. Better Proposals’ security page describes AWS hosting, AES-256 encryption at rest and in transit, hourly encrypted backups and regular CREST-approved penetration testing, with two-factor authentication and password-protected documents on every plan; its ISO 27001 and SOC 2 references describe AWS’s data centers rather than an audit of Better Proposals itself. If a client asks for your proposal vendor’s SOC 2 report, Qwilr has one to show.

When neither is the right tool

Both are outbound proposal builders, and it is worth being clear about what that excludes, because buyers land on this comparison from RFP searches all the time.

If a prospect sends you a 200-row security questionnaire, a due diligence questionnaire or a formal RFP in their own spreadsheet or portal, neither Better Proposals nor Qwilr will import it, find answers in your past responses and fill it in. That is a different job with a different tool category; start with the RFP response software and security questionnaire automation guides instead. Plenty of teams run a proposal builder for their own outbound deals and a response tool for the questionnaires buyers send them, and the two do not compete.

Likewise, if your deals end in heavily negotiated contracts, a document platform with redlining may serve you better than either of these.

Known issues and limitations

Better Proposals

  • Starter is one user and 10 sends: Premium caps the account at 50 sends a month, per its pricing page (checked October 2026).
  • Team controls on Enterprise only: manager approvals, content locking, simultaneous editing and inline commenting are Enterprise-only, per its pricing page (checked October 2026).
  • PDF copies can differ: its own help center says the PDF version can differ from the online proposal (checked October 2026).
  • Editor complaints: Capterra reviews from December 2023 to April 2026 call the editor clunky, with limited layout options (checked October 2026).

Qwilr

  • Seat minimums, paid upfront: Growth needs 5 users and Scale 10, both annual-only and paid upfront, per its pricing page (checked October 2026).
  • Salesforce only on Scale: per its pricing page (checked October 2026).
  • Per-document automation fees and short Starter history: automated documents cost $2.50 each past the allowance, and analytics history is 60 days on Starter, per its pricing page (checked October 2026).
  • No ISO 27001: its security FAQ says it is not ISO 27001 certified (checked October 2026).

Choose Better Proposals when

  • You are a freelancer, agency or small business and the lowest per-seat price matters.
  • You want clients onboarded straight after signing, with call booking, forms and redirects.
  • You bill by direct debit through GoCardless, or want PayPal and Stripe on the entry plan.
  • You run several brands from one account.
  • You want performance reports by company, team and user on a mid-price plan.

Choose Qwilr when

  • Your proposal has to sell: interactive quotes, an ROI calculator and embedded demo video.
  • You are a HubSpot, Zoho or Pipedrive team and want CRM sync on the entry plan.
  • You plan to generate proposals automatically from deal data or rules.
  • You send a lot of hand-built proposals and do not want a monthly send cap.
  • Clients may ask for your proposal vendor’s SOC 2 Type 2 report.

Verdict

Same format, different ambitions. Better Proposals is the better buy for small businesses and agencies: it is cheaper at every size, includes payments and onboarding, and gets non-designers to a professional page fast. Qwilr is the better buy for sales teams that want the proposal itself to do selling work and to plug into a CRM-driven, automated process.

Build your current proposal in both trials and send each to a colleague on a phone. Then look at your CRM and your monthly send count. Those three checks settle this pair in an afternoon.

Read the full Better Proposals review or Qwilr review, or browse all RFP & DDQ software.

Sources checked

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between Better Proposals and Qwilr?

Both send proposals as web pages rather than PDFs, with signatures, payments and read analytics. Better Proposals is template-led and priced for small businesses, with post-signature onboarding flows. Qwilr is built around interactive pages (quote blocks, an ROI calculator, embedded media) and rules-based or API-driven proposal generation. Neither answers RFPs, DDQs or security questionnaires.

Which is cheaper, Better Proposals or Qwilr?

Better Proposals, as of October 2026. Its plans are $13, $21 and $42 per user per month billed annually. Qwilr is $35 on Starter, $55 on Growth (5-user minimum) and $75 on Scale (10-user minimum), with Growth and Scale billed annually upfront.

Which is better with HubSpot?

Qwilr includes HubSpot, Zoho and Pipedrive integrations on its $35 Starter plan. Better Proposals lists CRM contact search from Premium ($21) and its HubSpot 'Advanced' integration, which updates deal stages and creates documents from HubSpot, on Enterprise ($42).

Do Better Proposals and Qwilr limit sends or documents?

Better Proposals limits sends to 10 a month on Starter and 50 on Premium, unlimited on Enterprise. Qwilr pages you build by hand are unlimited, but documents generated automatically through its API or Smart Proposal Engine cost $2.50 each past an allowance of 40, 200 or 600.

Can clients pay inside Better Proposals and Qwilr proposals?

Yes. Better Proposals includes Stripe, GoCardless and PayPal on every plan. Qwilr includes QwilrPay for partial, full or recurring payments on every plan, with a listed 0.09% QwilrPay fee on Starter and 0% on Growth and Scale.

Should I choose Better Proposals or Qwilr?

Choose Better Proposals for a small business or agency that wants polished proposals, payments and client onboarding at the lowest per-seat price. Choose Qwilr when the proposal should behave like an interactive sales page, especially for a HubSpot team or for automated proposal generation.

Do Better Proposals and Qwilr list ISO 27001, SOC 2, and US or EU hosting?

Better Proposals: ISO 27001 Not listed, SOC 2 Not listed, US Not listed, EU Not listed, Slack Not listed, Teams Not listed, clouds Not listed. Qwilr: ISO 27001 Not listed, SOC 2 SOC 2 Type II, US Not listed, EU Not listed, Slack Not listed, Teams Not listed, clouds Not listed. Confirm both on the vendor sites.

Source registry

Every page we read for these profiles, with the month it was last checked. Anything without a source is shown as not publicly disclosed. Spot an outdated fact? Send it from the corrections page.

Better Proposals

Pricing

  • betterproposals.io/pricingChecked Oct 2026 · Pricing model · Starting price · Free tier · Plan tiers · Pricing note · Limitation · RFPs score

Security and compliance

  • No security source URL recorded. Treat certifications and hosting as not publicly disclosed.

Product and integrations

Third-party reviews

Qwilr

Pricing

  • qwilr.com/pricingChecked Oct 2026 · Plan tiers · Pricing note · Limitation · RFPs score · Workflow & approvals score

Security and compliance

  • No security source URL recorded. Treat certifications and hosting as not publicly disclosed.

Third-party reviews