RFP Response Builder review: pricing and alternatives (2026)
Quick answer
RFP Response Builder is RFP and proposal software for office-first teams that want a content library without leaving Word and Excel. Pricing starts at $39/user/mo on a per-seat model. Check before buying: No generative AI drafting; answers come from the library, so it trails the AI-native tools it competes with.
RFP responses built inside Word and Excel
- Overall score: 4.0/5 across 9 capability dimensions.
- Best for: Office-first teams that want a content library without leaving Word and Excel.
- Pricing: $39/user/mo on a per-seat basis.
- Standout strength: Lives in Word and Excel, so there is little to learn or adopt.
- Ecosystem: 3 integrations.
- Limitations: No generative AI drafting: answers come from the library, so it trails the AI-native tools it competes with.

Overview
RFP Response Builder works inside Microsoft Office to produce RFP responses, proposals, and SOWs, with a cloud-synced content library and automatic formatting cleanup.
Capability snapshot
Nine jobs, scored 0 (not offered) to 3 (category-leading). RFP Response Builder is strongest on Self-serve onboarding and lightest on AI drafting. The same scores feed every comparison table.
- RFPs2/3
- DDQs1/3
- Security questionnaires1/3
- AI drafting0/3
- Answer library2/3
- Source attribution0/3
- Workflow & approvals2/3
- Integrations2/3
- Self-serve onboarding3/3
Strongest: Self-serve onboardingLightest: AI drafting
Key features
- Built into Microsoft Word and Excel
- Cloud-synced content library with real-time updates
- Dashboard for managing response projects
- Automatic formatting and content cleanup
Who it's for
Small and mid-size teams across IT, marketing, construction, and professional services who draft RFPs in Office.
Strengths
- Lives in Word and Excel, so there is little to learn or adopt.
- Cloud sync keeps the content library current across contributors.
- Automatic formatting and content cleanup on long documents.
- Published per-user price and a no-credit-card trial, so teams can buy without a sales call.
Limitations
- No generative AI drafting: answers come from the library, so it trails the AI-native tools it competes with.
- Windows-only desktop install; Mac users need Parallels or Boot Camp.
- Business plan has a 5-user minimum and a 30-day cancellation notice; vendor-hosted project files add $5 per user per month.
- Salesforce and other custom integrations need the quote-only Enterprise plan; integration services are not in Business.
Where it falls short
Gaps we found in research, each linked to its source.
- The desktop software must be installed on a Windows machine with Microsoft Office for Windows; Mac users need Parallels or Boot Camp. rfpresponsebuilder.com, 2026-10
- Integration services are not included in the Business plan or the free trial. rfpresponsebuilder.com, 2026-10
- The Business plan has a 5-user minimum, requires 30 days' notice to cancel, and adds $5 per user per month after the trial if the vendor hosts your project files. rfpresponsebuilder.com, 2026-10
- Salesforce and other custom integrations sit on the quote-only Enterprise plan. rfpresponsebuilder.com, 2026-10
Security: ISO 27001, SOC 2, and regional hosting
A security review of RFP Response Builder usually starts with three questions: ISO 27001, SOC 2, and whether you can keep data in the US or the EU. We only mark a yes when a public vendor page supports it.
- ISO 27001
- Not listed
- SOC 2
- Not listed
- US hosting
- Not listed
- EU hosting
- Not listed
Slack, Teams and the rest of the stack
RFP Response Builder collaboration is only as useful as the chat tools your SMEs already live in. Slack and Microsoft Teams are the two that matter on a live questionnaire.
- Slack
- Not listed
- Microsoft Teams
- Not listed
Subprocessors
For RFP Response Builder, start with the big three clouds (AWS, Azure, GCP), then look at niche processors that touch answer content, call a third-party model, or record sessions.
- AWS, Azure, GCP
- Not listed
No named subprocessors are listed in our sourced dataset for RFP Response Builder.
Topics
Industries and roles
Pages that list RFP Response Builder because its published profile shows evidence of that fit.
Ratings
Pricing and value
How much does RFP Response Builder cost?
RFP Response Builder uses per-seat pricing, starting at $39/user/mo Business plan at $39 per user per month with a 5-user minimum, paid by credit card with no long-term contract (30-day cancellation notice). Free trial (no credit card) includes every Business feature; vendor-hosted project files add $5 per user per month after the trial. Enterprise (custom integrations including Salesforce, premium onboarding) is quote-only.
RFP Response Builder publishes a free trial, last checked Oct 2026.
On our capability model it scores 4.0 out of 5 across 9 dimensions, and G2 reviewers rate it 4.5/5 across 56 reviews. Weigh that against office-first teams that want a content library without leaving Word and Excel to judge whether the price fits the job.
Pricing and details verified Oct 2026. Confirm on the vendor's site before you buy.
Who should pick RFP Response Builder, and who should skip it
Pick it if you fit this profile: small and mid-size teams across IT, marketing, construction, and professional services who draft RFPs in Office. Where it earns its place: Lives in Word and Excel, so there is little to learn or adopt.
Look elsewhere if this limitation is a deal-breaker: No generative AI drafting: answers come from the library, so it trails the AI-native tools it competes with. Also look around if ai drafting is central to how you work (0/3 here). In that case, one of the RFP Response Builder alternatives may fit better.
Bottom line
Best use case in one line: Office-first teams that want a content library without leaving Word and Excel.
Teams evaluating RFP Response Builder often also compare RFP Response Builder vs DeepRFP, and RFP Response Builder vs Expedience Software, or browse RFP Response Builder alternatives.
Similar tools
Loopio, AutoRFP.ai, and Responsive come first as category benchmarks, followed by the closest peers on the job RFP Response Builder is hired for (shared categories and tags, plus aligned capabilities). The snapshot above already scores each job. The notes below say where each tool is stronger, lighter, or a match.
Loopio (4.6/5, Custom (~$20K+/yr est.)). Best for large enterprise teams with high response volume and a mature content library. Leads RFP Response Builder on RFPs, DDQs, and AI drafting. Audience: Teams in SaaS, tech, financial services, and healthcare answering high volumes of RFPs, RFIs, DDQs, and security questionnaires. Watch-out: No public prices: the entry Foundations plan includes 10 seats, and multi-step reviews start one tier up on Enhanced.
AutoRFP.ai (4.9/5, $899/mo). Best for software and finance teams answering structured RFPs in Word and Excel who want accuracy-first drafts, responses written to win, and a workflow that is easy to run. Leads RFP Response Builder on RFPs, DDQs, and AI drafting. Audience: Software and finance response teams whose RFPs come in as Word or Excel files and who want accuracy-first drafts, winning responses with every line cited to a source, a person, or the AI, and a workflow that is easy to run. Watch-out: Built for structured, source-cited answers rather than creative writing on long-form responses. For persuasive multi-page narrative, AutogenAI is built for that prose job.
Responsive (4.6/5, $10,000 (Emerging edition)). Best for enterprise teams with complex approval chains and heavy integration requirements. Leads RFP Response Builder on RFPs, DDQs, and AI drafting. Audience: Enterprise sales and proposal teams that need the widest workflow across RFPs, RFIs, DDQs, and security questionnaires. Watch-out: Quoted by edition, user count, and add-ons, with a 12-month minimum term as standard and no free trial.
Expedience Software (3.8/5, Custom). Best for teams that want proposal automation without adopting a separate web app. Matches RFP Response Builder on RFPs and DDQs, and leads on AI drafting. Audience: Proposal writers who prefer to stay in Microsoft Word and want curated, compliant content a click away. Watch-out: No public pricing; quotes depend on users, features and add-ons.
QorusDocs (4.0/5, Custom). Best for consulting and professional-services teams that live in PowerPoint and slide decks more than Excel or Word grids. Matches RFP Response Builder on RFPs and DDQs, and leads on AI drafting. Audience: Consulting firms and professional-services BD teams whose winning artifact is a presentation, not a completed questionnaire. Watch-out: Windows 10 or later plus desktop Microsoft 365 Office apps are required for end users.
Qvidian (4.3/5, Custom). Best for incumbent enterprise proposal teams that still need Qvidian's governance, or are planning a move to AutoRFP.ai, Loopio, or Responsive. Leads RFP Response Builder on RFPs, DDQs, and AI drafting. Audience: Large proposal operations that already run Qvidian for permissioning and approvals, and teams comparing a replacement shortlist. Watch-out: Not supported on mobile devices, and the legacy Office add-ins need Windows (Mac users need a virtual PC).
Sources behind this RFP Response Builder review
Every page we read for the RFP Response Builder profile, with the month it was last checked. Anything without a source is shown as not publicly disclosed. Spot an outdated fact? Send it from the corrections page.
Security and compliance
- No security source URL recorded. Treat certifications and hosting as not publicly disclosed.
Product and integrations
Third-party reviews
Frequently asked questions
Does RFP Response Builder run inside Office?
Yes. It works within Microsoft Word and Excel, with a cloud-synced content library behind it.
Is it an AI-native tool?
No. It relies on a managed content library and formatting automation rather than AI drafting, so compare it against AI-first tools if generation is your priority.
How much does RFP Response Builder cost?
The Business plan is $39 per user per month with a 5-user minimum, after a free trial that needs no credit card. Enterprise pricing is custom.
What is RFP Response Builder?
RFP Response Builder works inside Microsoft Office to produce RFP responses, proposals, and SOWs, with a cloud-synced content library and automatic formatting cleanup. In this directory it sits under RFP Response, Proposal Management.
Does RFP Response Builder have a free plan or trial?
No. RFP Response Builder does not advertise a free plan, so expect a demo or quote on its per-seat pricing.
What does RFP Response Builder do best?
Lives in Word and Excel, so there is little to learn or adopt. Cloud sync keeps the content library current across contributors.
What are the main limitations of RFP Response Builder?
No generative AI drafting: answers come from the library, so it trails the AI-native tools it competes with. Windows-only desktop install; Mac users need Parallels or Boot Camp. Business plan has a 5-user minimum and a 30-day cancellation notice; vendor-hosted project files add $5 per user per month. Salesforce and other custom integrations need the quote-only Enterprise plan; integration services are not in Business.
Who should use RFP Response Builder?
Small and mid-size teams across IT, marketing, construction, and professional services who draft RFPs in Office.
Does RFP Response Builder handle RFPs, DDQs, and security questionnaires?
RFP Response Builder is capable on RFPs, and DDQs and security questionnaires are a limited fit. Small and mid-size teams across IT, marketing, construction, and professional services who draft RFPs in Office.
What integrations and certifications does RFP Response Builder list?
RFP Response Builder lists Microsoft 365, SharePoint, DocuSign. No certifications are listed in our dataset; confirm on the vendor site.
Does RFP Response Builder have ISO 27001, SOC 2, and US or EU hosting?
RFP Response Builder ISO 27001: Not listed. SOC 2: Not listed. US hosting: Not listed. EU hosting: Not listed. Slack: Not listed. Microsoft Teams: Not listed. Big-three clouds listed: Not listed. Confirm on the vendor site before a security review.