Cone review: pricing, features and alternatives (2026)
Quick answer
Cone is proposal software for accounting and bookkeeping firms that want proposals and practice management together. Pricing starts at $9/user/mo on a per-seat model. Check before buying: Multiple signers is a paid add-on on every plan, billed per user.
Proposals and practice management for accountants
- Overall score: 3.5/5 across 9 capability dimensions.
- Best for: Accounting and bookkeeping firms that want proposals and practice management together.
- Pricing: $9/user/mo on a per-seat basis.
- Standout strength: Ties proposals to project kick-off and invoicing for accounting firms.
- Ecosystem: 3 integrations.
- Limitations: Multiple signers is a paid add-on on every plan, billed per user.

Overview
Cone (GetCone) is a proposal-to-payment and practice-management tool for accountants and bookkeepers, pairing proposals with a client portal, task tracking, and invoicing.
Capability snapshot
Nine jobs, scored 0 (not offered) to 3 (category-leading). Cone is strongest on Self-serve onboarding and lightest on RFPs. The same scores feed every comparison table.
- RFPs0/3
- DDQs0/3
- Security questionnaires0/3
- AI drafting0/3
- Answer library1/3
- Source attribution0/3
- Workflow & approvals1/3
- Integrations2/3
- Self-serve onboarding3/3
Strongest: Self-serve onboardingLightest: RFPs
Key features
- Proposals with automated project kick-off on acceptance
- Invoicing and payments from accepted proposals
- Client portal and client requests (Cone Practice plans)
- Task and deadline visibility for the team
Who it's for
Accountants and bookkeepers who send proposals and want a client portal, task tracking, and billing in one tool.
Strengths
- Ties proposals to project kick-off and invoicing for accounting firms.
- Unlimited clients and proposals on every Cone Propose plan, with published per-user prices.
- Rated 4.9/5 on G2 across 34 reviews (as of July 2026).
Limitations
- Multiple signers is a paid add-on on every plan, billed per user.
- Automated billing, payment collection and Zapier need the Growth plan.
- The client portal belongs to Cone Practice, not the Cone Propose plans.
- Aimed at accounting practices, not RFP or questionnaire teams.
Where it falls short
Gaps we found in research, each linked to its source.
- Multiple signers on a proposal is a paid add-on on every plan, priced per user ($2/user/mo monthly or $17/user/yr annually). getcone.io, 2026-10
- Automated billing and payment collection, client reminders and the Zapier integration sit on Cone Propose Growth ($12/user/mo billed annually); Essentials leaves them out. getcone.io, 2026-10
- The client portal and client requests are listed under Cone Practice (Essentials and Growth), not in the Cone Propose plans, so a proposals-only subscription does not include them. getcone.io, 2026-10
- Cancelling an annual plan keeps access until the end of the billing cycle, but the amount paid for the remaining period is not refunded. getcone.io, 2026-10
Security: ISO 27001, SOC 2, and regional hosting
A security review of Cone usually starts with three questions: ISO 27001, SOC 2, and whether you can keep data in the US or the EU. We only mark a yes when a public vendor page supports it.
- ISO 27001
- Not listed
- SOC 2
- Not listed
- US hosting
- Not listed
- EU hosting
- Not listed
Slack, Teams and the rest of the stack
Cone collaboration is only as useful as the chat tools your SMEs already live in. Slack and Microsoft Teams are the two that matter on a live questionnaire.
- Slack
- Not listed
- Microsoft Teams
- Not listed
Subprocessors
For Cone, start with the big three clouds (AWS, Azure, GCP), then look at niche processors that touch answer content, call a third-party model, or record sessions.
- AWS, Azure, GCP
- Not listed
No named subprocessors are listed in our sourced dataset for Cone.
Topics
Industries and roles
Pages that list Cone because its published profile shows evidence of that fit.
Ratings
Pricing and value
Cone uses per-seat pricing, starting at $9/user/mo Cone Propose from $9/user/mo billed annually ($13/user/mo monthly), with a 14-day free trial and no credit card. Cone Practice starts at $5/user/mo billed annually on Starter, which excludes proposals.
Cone publishes a free trial, last checked Oct 2026.
On our capability model it scores 3.5 out of 5 across 9 dimensions, and G2 reviewers rate it 4.9/5 across 34 reviews. Weigh that against accounting and bookkeeping firms that want proposals and practice management together to judge whether the price fits the job.
Pricing and details verified Oct 2026. Confirm on the vendor's site before you buy.
Who should pick Cone, and who should skip it
Pick it if you fit this profile: accountants and bookkeepers who send proposals and want a client portal, task tracking, and billing in one tool. Where it earns its place: Ties proposals to project kick-off and invoicing for accounting firms.
Look elsewhere if this limitation is a deal-breaker: Multiple signers is a paid add-on on every plan, billed per user. Also look around if rfps is central to how you work (0/3 here). In that case, one of the Cone alternatives may fit better.
Bottom line
Best use case in one line: Accounting and bookkeeping firms that want proposals and practice management together.
Teams evaluating Cone often also compare Cone vs Ignition, and Cone vs QuoteWerks, or browse Cone alternatives.
Similar tools
Loopio, AutoRFP.ai, and Responsive come first as category benchmarks, followed by the closest peers on the job Cone is hired for (shared categories and tags, plus aligned capabilities). The snapshot above already scores each job. The notes below say where each tool is stronger, lighter, or a match.
Loopio (4.6/5, Custom (~$20K+/yr est.)). Best for large enterprise teams with high response volume and a mature content library. Leads Cone on RFPs, DDQs, and AI drafting. Audience: Teams in SaaS, tech, financial services, and healthcare answering high volumes of RFPs, RFIs, DDQs, and security questionnaires. Watch-out: No public prices: the entry Foundations plan includes 10 seats, and multi-step reviews start one tier up on Enhanced.
AutoRFP.ai (4.9/5, $899/mo). Best for software and finance teams answering structured RFPs in Word and Excel who want accuracy-first drafts, responses written to win, and a workflow that is easy to run. Leads Cone on RFPs, DDQs, and AI drafting. Audience: Software and finance response teams whose RFPs come in as Word or Excel files and who want accuracy-first drafts, winning responses with every line cited to a source, a person, or the AI, and a workflow that is easy to run. Watch-out: Built for structured, source-cited answers rather than creative writing on long-form responses. For persuasive multi-page narrative, AutogenAI is built for that prose job.
Responsive (4.6/5, $10,000 (Emerging edition)). Best for enterprise teams with complex approval chains and heavy integration requirements. Leads Cone on RFPs, DDQs, and AI drafting. Audience: Enterprise sales and proposal teams that need the widest workflow across RFPs, RFIs, DDQs, and security questionnaires. Watch-out: Quoted by edition, user count, and add-ons, with a 12-month minimum term as standard and no free trial.
Ignition (3.7/5, $39/mo). Best for accounting and service firms that want proposals and billing joined up. Matches Cone on RFPs and DDQs, and leads on AI drafting. Audience: Service-based businesses, especially accountants and bookkeepers, who want engagement letters and billing in one flow. Watch-out: Internal proposal reviews and approvals only arrive on Pro+ ($399/mo billed annually).
Nusii (3.6/5, $29/mo). Best for agencies and consultants who want simple, multilingual proposals at a clear price. Matches Cone on RFPs and DDQs, and leads on AI drafting. Audience: Creative and professional-services agencies sending client proposals, often across languages and currencies. Watch-out: Active proposals are capped at 5 on Freelancer and 20 on Agency.
Proposable (3.6/5, $19/user/mo). Best for sales teams that want a simple builder with solid recipient analytics. Matches Cone on RFPs, DDQs, and AI drafting. Audience: Sales teams and managers who want quick proposal creation with tracking and approval controls. Watch-out: Solo allows 5 proposal deliveries a month, with no Stripe payments or team collaboration.
Sources behind this Cone review
Every page we read for the Cone profile, with the month it was last checked. Anything without a source is shown as not publicly disclosed. Spot an outdated fact? Send it from the corrections page.
Pricing
Security and compliance
- No security source URL recorded. Treat certifications and hosting as not publicly disclosed.
Product and integrations
Third-party reviews
Frequently asked questions
Who should use Cone?
Accounting and bookkeeping firms that want proposals, a client portal, task tracking, and billing in one place.
Is Cone useful for RFP responses?
No. It is a proposal-to-payment and practice-management tool for accountants, not a response platform.
What is Cone?
Cone (GetCone) is a proposal-to-payment and practice-management tool for accountants and bookkeepers, pairing proposals with a client portal, task tracking, and invoicing. In this directory it sits under Proposal Management.
How much does Cone cost?
Cone uses per-seat pricing starting at $9/user/mo. Cone Propose from $9/user/mo billed annually ($13/user/mo monthly), with a 14-day free trial and no credit card. Cone Practice starts at $5/user/mo billed annually on Starter, which excludes proposals.
Does Cone have a free plan or trial?
No. Cone does not advertise a free plan, so expect a demo or quote on its per-seat pricing.
What does Cone do best?
Ties proposals to project kick-off and invoicing for accounting firms. Unlimited clients and proposals on every Cone Propose plan, with published per-user prices.
What are the main limitations of Cone?
Multiple signers is a paid add-on on every plan, billed per user. Automated billing, payment collection and Zapier need the Growth plan. The client portal belongs to Cone Practice, not the Cone Propose plans. Aimed at accounting practices, not RFP or questionnaire teams.
Does Cone handle RFPs, DDQs, and security questionnaires?
Cone RFPs, DDQs, and security questionnaires are a limited fit. Accountants and bookkeepers who send proposals and want a client portal, task tracking, and billing in one tool.
What integrations and certifications does Cone list?
Cone lists QuickBooks, Xero, Stripe. No certifications are listed in our dataset; confirm on the vendor site.
Does Cone have ISO 27001, SOC 2, and US or EU hosting?
Cone ISO 27001: Not listed. SOC 2: Not listed. US hosting: Not listed. EU hosting: Not listed. Slack: Not listed. Microsoft Teams: Not listed. Big-three clouds listed: Not listed. Confirm on the vendor site before a security review.