Alternatives

Best Cone alternatives and competitors in 2026

Switching from Cone? Compare the 5 closest Cone alternatives in 2026 on price, best fit, security and why teams switch.

Quick answer

The closest Cone alternatives in 2026 are Ignition, Nusii, Proposable, Prospero and Qwilr, ranked by how much of the same job each one covers. Pick Ignition for accounting and service firms that want proposals and billing joined up, or Nusii for agencies and consultants who want simple, multilingual proposals at a clear price. Cone still fits accounting and bookkeeping firms that want proposals and practice management together, and all five publish a starting price.

Cone reviewed Oct 2026

5 alternatives from 70 profilesNo paid placementSources checked: 30

Cone alternatives at a glance

Name, best fit, listed starting price and one difference from Cone, each taken from the published profiles. Confirm with the vendor before you buy.
ToolBest forStarting priceDifference
ConeSwitching fromAccounting and bookkeeping firms that want proposals and practice management together.$9/user/moThe tool being replaced.
IgnitionAccounting and service firms that want proposals and billing joined up.$39/moScores higher than Cone on AI drafting and approval workflows in our model.
NusiiAgencies and consultants who want simple, multilingual proposals at a clear price.$29/moScores higher than Cone on AI drafting in our model.
ProposableSales teams that want a simple builder with solid recipient analytics.$19/user/moScores higher than Cone on approval workflows in our model.
ProsperoFreelancers and small teams that want a cheap, easy proposal builder.$12/user/moScores higher than Cone on AI drafting in our model.
QwilrSales teams that want proposals to feel like a polished web page.$35/user/moScores higher than Cone on AI drafting in our model.

Why teams look for Cone alternatives

Cone sits in the proposal management category and suits accounting and bookkeeping firms that want proposals and practice management together. These are the limitations that push teams to look around, each linked to the page we read it on.

  • Multiple signers on a proposal is a paid add-on on every plan, priced per user ($2/user/mo monthly or $17/user/yr annually). getcone.io, 2026-10
  • Automated billing and payment collection, client reminders and the Zapier integration sit on Cone Propose Growth ($12/user/mo billed annually); Essentials leaves them out. getcone.io, 2026-10
  • The client portal and client requests are listed under Cone Practice (Essentials and Growth), not in the Cone Propose plans, so a proposals-only subscription does not include them. getcone.io, 2026-10
  • Cancelling an annual plan keeps access until the end of the billing cycle, but the amount paid for the remaining period is not refunded. getcone.io, 2026-10
Key takeaways
  • Closest swap: Ignition. Accounting and service firms that want proposals and billing joined up.
  • Cone is still right when: Accounting and bookkeeping firms that want proposals and practice management together.
  • Standout capability: Self-serve onboarding is where Cone scores highest in our model.
  • Pricing: Cone is $9/user/mo (per-seat).
  • Head-to-head: Cone vs Ignition
  • Limitations: Multiple signers is a paid add-on on every plan, billed per user.

How to choose the right Cone alternative

Start from the job, not the logo. Cone is built for accountants and bookkeepers who send proposals and want a client portal, task tracking, and billing in one tool. Stay if that matches your week. Switch if this limitation is a deal-breaker: Multiple signers is a paid add-on on every plan, billed per user. Also switch if RFPs is central to how you work, since Cone is light there.

Three checks decide most shortlists. First, questionnaire mix: RFPs, DDQs, and security questionnaires are different workloads, and a proposal-narrative tool will not save a 400-question SIG. Second, library vs draft: some platforms want a curated answer library before they pay off, others write from documents you already have. Third, buying motion: Cone is per-seat at $9/user/mo (Cone Propose from $9/user/mo billed annually ($13/user/mo monthly), with a 14-day free trial and no credit card. Cone Practice starts at $5/user/mo billed annually on Starter, which excludes proposals). If you need a published number or a self-serve trial, filter the list below on that before you book demos.

Rank below is job overlap (shared categories and tags, plus aligned capability scores), then name. It is not a universal crown. Details for Cone were last verified Oct 2026.

If RFPs is the job you actually run, Cone is a weak match on that dimension (0/3). Shortlist the tools below that score higher there, then confirm on a real questionnaire rather than a vendor demo file. Pricing for Cone is per-seat at $9/user/mo; if that buying motion is the problem, filter the list for a published number or a self-serve path first. Then book the demo with your worst questionnaire, not theirs.

5 alternatives to Cone, ranked

  1. 1. Ignition

    3.7/5 · $39/mo · Proposals plus billing for service firms

    Ignition ties proposals to billing for service businesses, especially accounting firms: send a proposal, sign the engagement, then automate invoicing and collection from the same agreement.

    Best for: Accounting and service firms that want proposals and billing joined up. Compared with Cone, pick Ignition when service-based businesses, especially accountants and bookkeepers, who want engagement letters and billing in one flow.

    What it actually does: Online proposals and engagement letters; Contract signing tied to billing; Automated invoicing and payment collection.

    Strengths: Joins the proposal to billing, so signed work bills itself. Ignition says its AI price insights are built on real proposal data, which helps firms benchmark fees.

    Watch-outs: Internal proposal reviews and approvals only arrive on Pro+ ($399/mo billed annually).

    Versus Cone: Matches Cone on RFPs, DDQs, and answer library, and leads on AI drafting. Switch when those gaps match the job you actually run.

    Stack: Integrations listed: Xero, QuickBooks, Karbon, Gusto, Zapier. Certifications: SOC 2 Type 2. Named customers in the vendor file: Connected Accounting, GENFOCUS.

    Pricing: flat-rate, $39/mo. Plans priced by active clients and users, not per seat: Solo $39/mo billed annually ($49 monthly, US and Canada only, eligibility criteria apply), Core from $99/mo billed annually. 14-day free trial, no free plan. Capterra reviewers score it 4.7/5 from 152 reviews as of Jul 2026.

    Read the Ignition review, or the live Ignition vs Cone comparison.

  2. 2. Nusii

    3.6/5 · $29/mo · Simple, multilingual proposals for agencies

    Nusii is a lightweight proposal tool for agencies and consultants, with published pricing from $29/mo, localization in dozens of languages, and multi-currency handling for international clients.

    Best for: Agencies and consultants who want simple, multilingual proposals at a clear price. Compared with Cone, pick Nusii when creative and professional-services agencies sending client proposals, often across languages and currencies.

    What it actually does: Fast, template-based proposal creation; Localization in 35 languages with multi-currency and tax handling; E-signatures with multi-signer support.

    Strengths: Genuinely simple, with published pricing and a 60-day money-back guarantee. Strong localization for agencies with international clients.

    Watch-outs: Active proposals are capped at 5 on Freelancer and 20 on Agency.

    Versus Cone: Matches Cone on RFPs, DDQs, and answer library, and leads on AI drafting. Switch when those gaps match the job you actually run.

    Stack: Integrations listed: HubSpot, Pipedrive, Zapier, Slack, Stripe.

    Pricing: flat-rate, $29/mo. Plan pricing with included users and active-proposal limits: Freelancer $29/mo (1 user), Agency $49/mo (3 users), Business $129/mo (5 users). 14-day free trial and a 60-day money-back guarantee. G2 reviewers score it 4.5/5 from 24 reviews as of Jul 2026.

    Read the Nusii review.

  3. 3. Proposable

    3.6/5 · $19/user/mo · Proposals with a focus on tracking

    Proposable is a straightforward proposal builder for sales teams, with a content library, e-signatures, approval controls, and analytics on how recipients interact with each document.

    Best for: Sales teams that want a simple builder with solid recipient analytics. Compared with Cone, pick Proposable when sales teams and managers who want quick proposal creation with tracking and approval controls.

    What it actually does: Drag-and-drop proposal builder; Recipient interaction analytics; Built-in e-signatures and payments.

    Strengths: Proposal analytics and SMS event notifications are on every plan, Solo included. Team plan adds unlimited proposals, standard CRM integrations and Stripe payments at $39 per user.

    Watch-outs: Solo allows 5 proposal deliveries a month, with no Stripe payments or team collaboration.

    Versus Cone: Matches Cone on RFPs, DDQs, AI drafting, and answer library. Switch when those gaps match the job you actually run.

    Stack: Integrations listed: Salesforce, HubSpot. Named customers in the vendor file: Grow.com, Verint Monet, Asure Software.

    Pricing: per-seat, $19/user/mo. Per-user plans: Solo $19/user/mo (5 proposal deliveries a month), Team $39/user/mo, Enterprise from $500/mo (adds manager approvals). Free trial on every plan. G2 reviewers score it 4.2/5 from 74 reviews as of Jul 2026.

    Read the Proposable review.

  4. 4. Prospero

    3.6/5 · $12/user/mo · Lightweight proposal builder for small teams

    Prospero (GoProspero) is a budget-friendly proposal builder with a template library, e-signatures, a product and pricing catalog, and status tracking, aimed at small teams and freelancers.

    Best for: Freelancers and small teams that want a cheap, easy proposal builder. Compared with Cone, pick Prospero when small teams and solo consultants who need to create, send, and track proposals without much overhead.

    What it actually does: Customizable proposal editor with a template library; Multi-device e-signatures; Central product and pricing catalog.

    Strengths: Low published price: $12/user/mo billed annually. Unlimited proposals, view analytics and automatic reminders on the single plan.

    Watch-outs: Template designs and theme editing are basic, per 2025 Capterra reviews.

    Versus Cone: Matches Cone on RFPs, DDQs, and answer library, and leads on AI drafting. Switch when those gaps match the job you actually run.

    Stack: Integrations listed: QuickBooks, Stripe, Zapier, FreshBooks.

    Pricing: per-seat, $12/user/mo. Per-user plans from $12/user/mo billed annually ($19 monthly); 14-day free trial. Capterra reviewers score it 4.8/5 from 135 reviews as of Jul 2026.

    Read the Prospero review.

  5. 5. Qwilr

    3.6/5 · $35/user/mo · Interactive web proposals with analytics

    Qwilr turns proposals into interactive web pages rather than static PDFs, with payments, signatures, and page-level analytics that show how prospects engage.

    Best for: Sales teams that want proposals to feel like a polished web page. Compared with Cone, pick Qwilr when modern sales teams who prefer interactive, mobile-friendly proposals over PDFs and want engagement data.

    What it actually does: Interactive, web-based proposals; Built-in payments and e-signatures; Page and section analytics.

    Strengths: Interactive pages stand out against the usual PDF proposal. Built-in quotes, QwilrPay payments and e-signatures on every plan.

    Watch-outs: Salesforce integration is only on Scale, which has a 10-user minimum.

    Versus Cone: Matches Cone on RFPs, DDQs, and answer library, and leads on AI drafting. Switch when those gaps match the job you actually run.

    Stack: Integrations listed: HubSpot, Salesforce, Zoho, Pipedrive, QuickBooks. Certifications: SOC 2 Type II. Named customers in the vendor file: Thomson Reuters, Drata, Meltwater, Morningstar.

    Pricing: per-seat, $35/user/mo. Starter is $35/user/mo billed annually ($49 monthly). Growth is $55/user/mo (5-user minimum) and Scale is $75/user/mo (10-user minimum), both billed annually. 14-day free trial, no credit card required. G2 reviewers score it 4.6/5 from 909 reviews as of Jul 2026.

    Read the Qwilr review.

See all 30 proposal management tools for the full list, sorted A to Z with scores and prices.

Frequently asked questions

What is the closest alternative to Cone?

Ignition is the closest swap on this shortlist: Accounting and service firms that want proposals and billing joined up. Cone remains the better fit for accounting and bookkeeping firms that want proposals and practice management together.

Why would a team switch from Cone?

The most common reason is the main limitation we record: Multiple signers is a paid add-on on every plan, billed per user. A need for stronger RFPs is another, since Cone scores 0/3 there. Shortlist against the job you actually run, not a generic feature grid.

Does Cone publish pricing?

Cone uses per-seat pricing ($9/user/mo). Cone Propose from $9/user/mo billed annually ($13/user/mo monthly), with a 14-day free trial and no credit card. Cone Practice starts at $5/user/mo billed annually on Starter, which excludes proposals. Compare that with each alternative's published or quoted starting point before you run a proof of concept.

Which Cone alternative is better for self-serve onboarding?

Cone already scores well on self-serve onboarding. If that is your main job, stay put unless a limitation below is a deal-breaker. If you need a different job, start with Ignition.

How should you compare Cone alternatives?

Run the same real questionnaire through two tools. Score draft quality, review workflow, and whether answers cite sources you trust. A live comparison page exists for Cone vs Ignition.

Are there proposal management tools besides Cone?

Yes. This page shortlists the 5 closest published alternatives, and the proposal management hub lists all 30 other tools in that category. Read each profile, then use the comparison index for head-to-head tables.

Source registry

Every page we read for these profiles, with the month it was last checked. Anything without a source is shown as not publicly disclosed. Spot an outdated fact? Send it from the corrections page.

Cone

Pricing

  • getcone.io/pricingChecked Oct 2026 · Pricing model · Starting price · Free tier · Plan tiers · Pricing note · Limitation · AI drafting score · Answer library score · Workflow & approvals score · Integrations score · Self-serve onboarding score · Integrations

Security and compliance

  • No security source URL recorded. Treat certifications and hosting as not publicly disclosed.

Product and integrations

Third-party reviews

Ignition

Pricing

  • ignitionapp.com/pricingChecked Oct 2026 · Pricing model · Starting price · Free tier · Plan tiers · Pricing note · Limitation · Workflow & approvals score

Security and compliance

  • No security source URL recorded. Treat certifications and hosting as not publicly disclosed.

Third-party reviews

Nusii

Pricing

  • nusii.com/pricingChecked Oct 2026 · Pricing model · Starting price · Free tier · Plan tiers · Pricing note · Limitation · Workflow & approvals score

Security and compliance

  • No security source URL recorded. Treat certifications and hosting as not publicly disclosed.

Product and integrations

Third-party reviews

Proposable

Pricing

Security and compliance

  • No security source URL recorded. Treat certifications and hosting as not publicly disclosed.

Product and integrations

Third-party reviews

Prospero

Pricing

Security and compliance

  • No security source URL recorded. Treat certifications and hosting as not publicly disclosed.

Product and integrations

Third-party reviews

Qwilr

Pricing

  • qwilr.com/pricingChecked Oct 2026 · Plan tiers · Pricing note · Limitation · RFPs score · Workflow & approvals score

Security and compliance

  • No security source URL recorded. Treat certifications and hosting as not publicly disclosed.

Third-party reviews

More ways to compare Cone

Profiles for every tool on this list live in the directory. Start with Cone, then the three cards below if you want a faster scan.

Run two tools on the same real questionnaire before you replace Cone. Score the first draft, whether answers cite a source you trust, and whether export lands in the buyer's original file. Cone is the right keep for accounting and bookkeeping firms that want proposals and practice management together. It is the wrong keep if this limitation decides it: Multiple signers is a paid add-on on every plan, billed per user. The closest swap on the job is Ignition; the live head-to-head on this site is Cone vs Ignition.